Raising the awareness of Freemasons and members of the public, to the rich
history and development of Freemasonry, is amongst the aims of the Essex
Provincial Library and Museum.
We have been in existence since 2006, when we were opened by the Provincial
Grand Master, R.W. Bro. John Michael Webb.
The displays reflect a modern and vibrant Library and Museum, enabling us to
exhibit, for example, some of the very special and ancient artefacts on loan
from Angel Lodge No. 51, who had their inaugural meeting in 1735. Among the
books in our possession are some fine bindings from the early 18th century.
One of our original aims was to have an image of every Provincial Grand Master,
since 1776. We are still striving to complete this collection, but that of
William Phillip Honywood (1824-1831), still eludes us.
Samuel Johnson (1709-1784) wrote in his now famous, A Dictionary of the English
Language, that a Museum was 'a collection of learned artefacts'.
learned artefacts which are held by the Library and Museum, form an excellent
resource for research into the sociological, esoteric and historical aspects of
Freemasonry, not just in the Province of Essex, but worldwide.
The knowledgeable Library and Museum staff are only too willing to assist
Freemasons and members of the public wishing to further their knowledge of our
Order. The Library and Museum can provide a quiet area for reading, reference
and research, with Internet access.
We are members of the Masonic Library and Museum Group
W/Bro. Pierre Waddoups. PPDepGSwdB. - Librarian and Curator
W/Bro. Peter W. Smith PPGSwdB. - Assistant Librarian
W/Bro. Brian Cattermole Prov.JGD. - Assistant Curator
W/Bro. Mark Perkins. TD. PSGD - Honorary Librarian and Curator
OPENING HOURS : 10.00 - 13.00 Every Tuesday.
Other times by appointment contact Pierre Waddoups